Friday, May 27, 2011

St. Bridget of Sweden and her Rosary

Here is a post by Sword and the Sea about St. Bridget of Sweden. The Carmelite nuns used as their habit rosary the prayer beads known as the Brigettine rosary. According to Meditations from Carmel:
The Brigittine (or "Saint Bridget") Rosary looks similar to a regular Rosary, but with an extra decade. The resultant seven Pater beads honor the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary, and the sixty-three Ave Maria beads commemorate the sixty-three years it is believed the Blessed Mother lived on this earth before her Assumption. In praying the Brigittine Rosary, there are a total of eighteen decades: In the six Joyful Mysteries, the first is the Immaculate Conception; the sixth of the Sorrowful Mysteries commemorates when the Body of the Lord was placed in the Arms of His Sorrowful Mother; and the sixth of the Glorious Mysteries is recited in honor of the Patronage of Mary, Mediatrix of All Grace (and, for the Carmelite, Mary, Queen and Beauty of Carmel). The other mysteries are the same as in the Dominican Rosary. However, at the end of each decade, the Apostles Creed, not the Glory be, is recited." --Fr. Boyd


Robertus Pittsburghensis said...

Where can I get one!?

Would I be a hopeless neo-Cath if I asked for a 6th luminous mystery? Like maybe the "Blessed Virgin hearing and keeping the Word of God"?

elena maria vidal said...

I don't know where to get them. I am sure if you Google "Brigettine Rosary" you can find someone selling them. You can always get beads and string and make your own.

Related Posts with Thumbnails